God who INCLINED

Psalms 40:1-3, ‘I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me up also out of a horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD

It is indeed very tough for a person who is at the top level to come to a low level. Every top level individual usually likes to contact only those of their same or even higher standards. But I am serving a God, who is above everyone. There is none above Him. Yet, He humbly came to a very low level, to save the whole mankind from the horrible pit of sin. What an example! It is impossible for a man to become God. That’s why God become man. Man cannot stretch his arms to hold God. That’s why God himself inclined towards man. We can never come to God’s standard by ourselves. Your child cannot reach and pluck the fruit from a tree. So you bend that branch towards your child for him to pluck and enjoy the fruit. Like wise, it is impossible for us to reach God by our good works (they are filthy rags in the eyes of God). That’s why Jesus, the only begotten Son of God showed us the Father and now we have fellowship with God through His blood. Glory to His name forever. Philippians 2: 6-8 talks about the level to which God inclined for our salvation. ‘Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage; rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death— even death on a cross!’

1) He made himself nothing

2) Took the nature of servant

3) Came in human likeness

4) Came as a Man

5) Humbled himself

6) Obedient till the death

7) Obedient on a cross to draw mankind towards Him

One day, Jesus removed his garment and wore the towel. He then started washing the feet of his disciples. When he came to Simon Peter, he said to him, “Lord, are you going to wash my feet? No you should not wash my feet.” For that, Jesus answered him “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me”. Yes this is the message to the whole mankind. Unless Jesus washes away your sins, you cannot have any part with God and His kingdom. Our sins have separated our God from us, but through Jesus and His precious blood, we have access to Him. Glory to the name of Jesus Christ.

Now let me explain three phases of salvation from Psalms 40:1-3 ;

1)Salvation is common – Salvation is common because sin is common. Bible says in Romans 3:22-23, ‘for all have sinned and fall short from the glory of God.’ This talks not only about David, but the whole mankind. The whole mankind is in the pit of sin…whether one is a priest or a prostitute, a Pharisee or a tax collector, good or bad. All need a savior to take them out of this miry clay of sin.

2)Salvation is personal– Salvation is very much a personal decision. It is you and me who have sinned against God. That’s why, we personally need forgiveness of sins. Here, no one is crying for David, but he himself is crying. We know about two robbers who were hanged on the cross with Jesus, but one went to eternal heaven while the other went to eternal hell. It’s because one decided to choose Jesus as his personal savior, but the other rejected him and mocked him.

3)Salvation is not achieved, but is received -Salvation is not achieved but is RECEIVED by those who REPENT and TRUST in the Lord Jesus as their Saviour and Lord. It is a gift and not a wage. Psalms 40 is the classic example of that. This is what God did for us:

He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay
He set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.
He hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God:

These verses say about ‘He’ brought me up, ‘He’ set my feet, ‘He’ put a new song…Everything has been done by Him and we did not work for our salvation. He paid the price to give us the gift of eternal life. Work is done on the Calvary by Him …we need to accept the TRUTH!

Stay Blessed Brethren
Blessen Daniel
I will live becoz Jesus lives

About Blessen Daniel

I am a bond servant of Jesus Christ who is on the wheel of His will covered by the membrane of His grace. He is moulding me like a potter with one hand inside the vessel and other one on the outside..My God supplies all my spiritual and outward needs. All Glory and Honor to Him who loved me while i was a wretched sinner and still loving me..Glory to Jesus ...in Him is the redemption !! View all posts by Blessen Daniel

Leave a Reply

